For what we have been given…

We believe in God… Creator of heaven and earth

I Chronicles 29:14

“Who am I, and who are my people, that we should be able to give as generously as this? Everything comes from You, and we have given You only what comes from Your hand.”

I am one of a fortunate minority of the human race, living in a relatively wealthy, developed country. Along with my husband, I own my house. I have had a well-paid professional occupation, and I am looking forward to drawing a pension – not particularly large, but I can reasonably expect to have enough to live on during my retirement.

And yet my apparent wealth (I will call it that, although compared to many others in my profession I am not rich) is an illusion. Nothing I have actually belongs to me; I am only a steward of what God has seen fit to loan to me. Access to medical education is not an inalienable right; up until a century ago it was almost impossible for women to study medicine. Things over which I have little or no control (ill health, divorce or other misfortune) would have left me in a very different financial situation. And nothing I ‘own’ is mine for ever; when I die, it will all be left to others.

Everything in this world belongs to the God who made it. And so a healthy attitude to money and possessions begins with an appreciation of His generosity. They are not mine, but His. So what would He have me do with them?

This entry was posted in Creed, God the Creator and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

