The Mary Diaries (part 1)

Funny how your life can change in a moment, when you’re least expecting it…

I was having a really good day, out with my mother and sister, visiting friends, chatting about marriage and babies and so on, as we girls do… but then I was suddenly seized by an overwhelming urge to be on my own. I can’t explain it: I wasn’t feeling ill at all, but I told my mother I had a headache and wanted to go home and lie down somewhere quiet.

When I got to the house, someone was standing by the door – someone I had never seen before. I opened my mouth to say that my mother was not at home, but then he bowed to me and said, “Greetings, Mary, most favoured one!” – and my legs went weak and wobbly, just as I felt when they told me my father had died. For a minute I was expecting bad news again – but it wasn’t anything of the kind, but a message from God… almost unbelievable.

I had to go and lie down afterwards anyway… I was so astounded by what he had said. When my mother came home to see how I was, she said that I looked as if I’d seen a ghost. I wanted to say, “I’ve seen an angel,” but it sounded too incredible, so I said, “Somebody told me that Aunt Elizabeth is nearly six months pregnant!”

My mother scoffed at that. “Rubbish! My cousin Joanna was visiting them only a few weeks back, and nothing was said about any pregnancy! Elizabeth wasn’t well, and her husband had some kind of stroke a while ago, poor man; they won’t ever be starting a family now.”

Now I’m confused. Perhaps my mother’s right: I’m getting over-excited about the wedding, and fantasising about babies… Every Jewish girl dreams of being the mother of the Messiah. Why should it be me?

to be continued…

This entry was posted in Creative writing, The Mary Diaries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

